James Easter of the Easter Brothers Welcomes You

The Gospel Singing Sensations from Dixie

19.95 14.95

Only 1 left in stock (can be backordered)

  • Description


The Lewis Family is often referred to as The First Family of Bluegrass Gospel, and this CD,  “The Gospel Singing Sensations from Dixie” was released in 1969 and is considered one of their best.

The family was founded by Pop and Mom Lewis (Roy Lewis Sr. and Pauline Lewis), who married in 1925, and started performing as The Lewis Family in 1951 when singing at a Woodmen of the World meeting. Later that same year, they released their first recording sessions on Sullivan Records. In 1954, they began appearing on a television show in Augusta, Georgia, where they continued until 1992. All together, The Lewis Family has released nearly 60 albums.

The family began touring regularly in the 1960’s, and stayed at it until the 2000’s, and several generations of family members joined the group as time went on. They were also renowned for their annual festival in their hometown, the Lewis Family Homecoming & Bluegrass Festival, but due to the declining health of several family members, the Lewis Family announced its retirement in May 2009. They performed their final regular concert that year in Dover, Pennsylvania, and on November 7, 2009 the family returned home to Lincolnton and performed a farewell concert.

The group was inducted into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame in 1992 and the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Honor in 2006, and have also won a number of Dove awards. The Lewis Family’s original home, built by Pop, is currently being restored by Jeff and Sheri Easter. Sheri is the daughter of Polly Lewis Copsey.


Here is the full track list included on “The Gospel Singing Sensations from Dixie”:


1    – Carry On
2   – Over In Gloryland
3   – He Knew Just What To Do (Instrumental)
4   – Everlasting Arms
5   – Got To Cross Jordan
6   – Grand Homecoming
7   – Spread Sunshine
8   – Where There’s A Will, There’s A Way
9   – What A Friend (Instrumental)
10 – A Voice From Heaven

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!